Bethany Lutheran Church

Special Meeting of New Council

January 17, 2021

Members present: Dave Bahnsen, Curt Casper, Anne Fetzer, Del Hughes, Amber Marsh, Kristin McElhinney, Jill Taylor, and Pastor Chad Whaley. Members Absent: None

The following slate of officers are as follows:

- President: Del Hughes
- Vice President: Dave Bahnsen
- Treasurer: Jill Taylor
- Temporary Secretary*: Anne Fetzer
 *When new Council members are added, secretary position will be revisited.

Anne motioned to accept officer positions, Dave seconded.

Committee Assignments:

- Building & Grounds: Curt Casper
- Evangelism and outreach: Dave Bahnsen
- Education: Kristin McElhinney
- Youth: Amber Marsh
- Fellowship: Anne Fetzer
- Stewardship: Open
- Worship & Music: Open

Dave motioned to accept committee assignments, Anne seconded.

Discussion of Recruitment for Council Vacancies:

- It was discussed at the Annual Meeting from members' review of Church's Constitution that Council has the authority to find a one-year term without voting needed by congregation. Pastor will visit with Synod to check process.
- Council is in agreement to find to volunteers for 3 year term positions, but if unable, to find members who would fill a one-year term. Volunteers may serve for a one-year term, and then be voted on at the next annual meeting to fulfill 3-year term position.

Next meeting of council is February 8th at 6:30 pm and at this time will be virtual via Zoom.